General Tour Operators

General Tour Operators

The following offer German packages and itineraries as part of a larger, Europe-wide or even worldwide assortment of holidays. Some are Internet-based, others are big names from the high street.

Archers Direct (also Cosmos Tourama) 0844 573 4806, www.archersdirect.co.uk

Coach, air and cruise packages to popular cities and rivers

Back-Roads, 0208 9870 990, www.backroadstouring.com

Interesting and imaginative routes, either tailormade or groups, mostly combining Germany with somewhere else.

Battered Suitcase, 0800 6891586, www.battered-suitcase.com

A couple of German itineraries including a heritage tour of Bremen and German highlights in a European grand tour.

Cities Direct, 01242 536 900, www.citiesdirect.co.uk

Weekends (and longer) in several German cities

Cox and Kings, 020 7873 5000, www.coxandkings.co.uk

Upmarket tour operator with a small selection of private tours and city breaks.

Grand UK Holidays, 01603 619933, www.grandukholidays.com

Small selection of coach tours, river cruises and rail tours.

Great Rail Journeys, 01904 521 936, www.greatrail.com

Rail-based escorted tours which take in cities, regions and special occasions, particularly Christmas markets.

Expedia, 0330 123 1235, www.expedia.co.uk

Online booking of flights and hotels.

Headwater, 01606 828118, www.headwater.com

Walking in Bavaria, plus walking/cycling itineraries on the Danube, Lake Constance and Alsace with some German sections.

Hoseasons, 0844 847 1356, www.hoseasons.co.uk

Selection of holiday parks nationwide, and cabin cruiser rental in Mecklenburg.

Kirker, 020 7593 1899, www.kirkerholidays.com

Upmarket weekend breaks to major cities.

Lastminute.com, 0871 222 5969, www.lastminute.com

Online operator packaging flights and hotels to cities.

Leger Holidays, 0844 504 6251, www.leger.co.uk

Does a bit of everything: coach tours, flight-based weekends, cruises and Christmas markets.

Osprey City Holidays, 0131 243 8098, www.ospreyholidays.com

Edinburgh-based city specialist offering Berlin and Munich.

Page & Moy, 0844 567 6633, www.pageandmoy.co.uk

Mainly Rhine and Danube cruises, but with a couple of escorted rail-based tours, too.

Railbookers, 020 3327 0800, www.railbookers.com

Train travel specialist with wide range of German city breaks and small selection of longer touring holidays by train.

Regent Holidays, 0845 277 3317, www.regent-holidays.co.uk

Eastern Europe specialist with city breaks to Berlin and Dresden.

Riviera Tours, 0844 826 2122, www.rivieratravel.co.uk

Train-based  trips to the Rhine and Moselle Valleys.

Shearings, 0844 824 6351, www.shearings.com

Extensive selection of holidays all over Germany, coach, air and cruise based.

 

Thomson Cities, 0871 231 4691, www.thomson.co.uk

City breaks to the big names plus Düsseldorf and Dresden.

Thomson Lakes and Mountains, 0871 230 8181, www.thomsonlakes.co.uk

Active holidays based on a small selection of resorts in the Bavarian Alps.

Travelsphere, (0800 987 5051, www.travelsphere.co.uk)

Nice selection of regional tours, with a bit of everything.