Specialist Tour Operators

Specialist Tour Operators

Tours for culture buffs, gay travellers, history nuts, railway enthusiasts, sports fans, bikers and pilgrims – although not all travelling together. Also specialist hotel booking agencies.

Ace Study Tours, 01223 835 055, www.acestudytours.co.uk

Strong on cultural themed packages, particularly for music, art, architecture, and related festivals.

 

Dr Thomson’s Tours, 01227 455 922,www.drttours.co.uk

Tailormade private military history tours to the key World War sites, led by Dr Thomson himself.

Fanfare Events, 0161 437 0002, www.fanfare-events.com

Sports tour operator which can organize trips to German football matches.

Festiniog Travel, 01766 772957, www.ffestiniogtravel.com.

Escorted tour of Germany by many different forms of train.

Gower Music International, 01527 851410, www.gowertours.com

Arranges concert venues and accommodation for touring school and amateur musical groups.

Heritage Group Travel, 01225 466 620, www.grouptravel.co.uk

Cultural group travel with an interest in the arts and the German/British aristocracy

Holts Tours, 01293 865 000, www.holts.co.uk

World War II themed tours to key locations in the flowering of Nazism.

Hotels.com, 020 3 027 8146, www.hotels.com

Huge range of hotels in almost every destination.

 

Martin Randall Travel, 020 8742 3355, www.martinrandall.com

Very strong on historical, musical and festival-based travel.

Magellan Motorcycling Tours, 01872 370025, magellanmotorcycletours.co.uk

Itineraries in the Black Forest and the Harz Mountains.

Motorcycling Holidays Worldwide, 0161 941 7149, www.mcitours.com

Escorted and self-guided bikers holidays to the Black Forest, Harz Mountains and Moselle, plus race meetings.

Motorracing International, 01304 612424, www.motorracinginternational.uk.com

Formula One tickets and tours.

One Stage, 020 8568 5486, www.onestage.co.uk

Specialist concert tours company arranging itineraries and venues for amateur music groups.

Pax Travel, 020 7485 3003, www.paxtravel.co.uk

Pilgrimage tour operator with Martin Luther and Pope Benedict XVI itineraries.

Planet Rail, 01347 811 810, www.planetrail.co.uk

Escorted rail-based itineraries to Christmas markets in Cologne, Dresden and Berlin.

Poppy Travel, 01622 716729, www.poppytravel.org.uk

Specialist travel arm of the British Legion, with tours to Northern Germany, Berlin and Colditz.

Railbookers, 020 3327 0800, www.railbookers.com

Train itineraries to Cologne and Berlin.

Rail Trail, 01538 38 23 23,www.railtrail.co.uk

Steam enthusiasts trips to the likes of the Harz mountains and Dresden.

Sports Tours International, 0161 703 8161, www.sportstoursinternational.co.uk

Arranges travel to participant competitions in running, cycling, triathlon etc.

Tailored Travel, 0845 230 9966, www.tailored-travel.co.uk

Cultural tours and group tours with architectural and historical interest.

Travel for the Arts,020 8799 8350, www.travelforthearts.co.uk

Opera, music and dance short breaks based around specific performances.